

## Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Minutes of the Meeting of June 10, 2021 MCLA, 375 Church St, North Adams MA, Murdock Room 208 Audio/Video Conference

## **Members in Attendance**

Mohan Boodram, Chair Brenda Burdick, Vice Chair\* JD Chesloff\* Karen Kowalczyk Robert Reilly

## Others in Attendance

James Birge, President Lisa Lescarbeau, Clerk

\*Denotes remote participation

Upon establishing a quorum of the Executive Committee Members present, Chair Boodram called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m. and began discussion of the presidential evaluation process.

President Birge began with a review of potential honorary degree recipients for May 2022. Typically, three or four honorary degrees are awarded each year. Efforts to connect with individuals to determine their interest in accepting an HD will begin to allow this Committee time for consideration of nominees. Included in those to consider are individuals who would also be potential candidates to serve as commencement speaker for the class of 2022.

The committee discussed potential HD recipients and speakers including Boston Mayor Kimberly Janney, North Adams Mayor Thomas Bernard, Moe Collin, Marty Walsh, Actress Audra McDonald, Lt. Governor Karen Polito, Kenneth Turner, Amanda Gorman, Arlo Guthrie, MaryLou Sudders, Damon Cox, Congresswoman Catherine Clark, Kiersten Gillibrand, Kate Maguire, and Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor.

Invitations to serve as commencement speaker for the Class of 2022 will be drafted by President Birge in this order: Audra McDonald, Sonia Sotomayor, Karen Polito, and Amanda Gorman.

President Birge reviewed potential candidates to serve as a member of the College's Board of Trustees, and the appointment process was reviewed. In March 2022, four current Trustees terms will end; however, they will continue to serve until their successor is identified and appointed by the Governor. When considering appointees, domains of expertise should be considered to fill any gaps that may exist with remaining trustees.

There being no further business to come before the committee, the meeting was adjourned at 4:55 p.m. by Chair Boodram.