

Minutes of the Meeting of the Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts BOARD OF TRUSTEES ACADEMIC AFFAIRS COMMITTEE May 11, 2021 Audio/Video Conference

Committee members in attendance:

Mohan Boodram, Chair Brenda Burdick Susan Gold Robert Reilly

Others present:

James F. Birge, President
Lisa Lescarbeau, Clerk
Adrienne Wootters, Interim VP of Academic Affairs
Nicholas Stroud, Education Department Chair/Professor of Science & Technology
Education
Maureen McLaughlin, Guest

President Birge introduced Ms. Maureen McLaughlin, a doctoral student at Endicott College completing an internship with MCLA.

Trustee Burdick called the meeting to order at 8:32 a.m. and thanked VP Wootters for her service to the College and to this Committee, and congratulated her on her upcoming retirement.

Department of Secondary and Elementary Education Report

Dr. Stroud provided an update on the Department of Secondary and Elementary Education (DESE) approved teacher and educator preparation program review conducted in 2018/2019, which resulted in a probationary status for the College's program.

Work continues with administration to address the issues resulting from the review. Two staff positions were created to address program needs. Administration maintains frequent contact with

Academic Affairs Committee Minutes of May 11, 2021 Page 2

DESE and reports indicate that the program is progressing well. The probationary status is in place for three years ending after summer 2022. At that time there will be a formal review process.

Probationary status does not change the College's ability to recruit and admit students to the education program. Additional reporting to DESE will continue as we work toward the formal review. Items being addressed at this include recruitment, selection and evaluation processes for hiring faculty instructors and staff, effective advising, and retention of faculty and staff. Efforts over the past two years focused on deepening partnerships with local schools in areas such as social and emotional learning with teachers, establishing an early childhood center, a proposal for mentoring new teachers, working with reading specialists county wide, and addressing issues of systemic racism and including antiracism in pedagogy.

Professor Stroud provided a summary of the Leadership Academy program. Enrollment is currently at 50 students with a goal of 60 for this cohort. The Academy will be fully online this summer with a goal of in-person programs in summer 2022.

Summer Course Enrollment

VP Wootters reviewed summer course enrollment. All 2021 summer lecture courses will be taught online. Most lab courses (physics, chemistry, biology, and radiologic technology) will be taught face-to-face. Enrollment is currently up and exceeding last year's numbers by 9%. Associate Dean of DGCE Paul Petritis is confident that the total undergraduate summer enrollment will surpass last year's number of 670 seats.

Newly Elected Department Chairs

Mr. Jeremy Winchester has been elected to a three-year term as chair of the Fine and Performing Arts department. Dr. Anthony Daly has been elected to a one-year term as Acting Chair of the History and Political Science Department. Dr. Kerri Nicoll has been re-elected to a three-year term as chair of the Anthropology/Sociology/Social Work Department.

Faculty Incentive Awards

The following faculty members are recipients of the 2021-2022 Faculty Incentive Awards:

New Course and Program Development:

Dr. Lisa Arrastia, Education, "Center for Oral History in Education"

Research Award for Tenured Faculty:

Dr. Hannah Haynes, English & Communications, "Women Talk Back: Women's White Supremacist Masculine Online Rhetoric & Reception"

Research Award for Tenure-Track Faculty:

Dr. Sudipto Sarkar, Business Administration, "Exploring Customers' Reactions to Enforcement of Fine Print"

Sabbatical Research Awards:

Dr. Amber Engelson, English & Communications, "Follow-up Research for book manuscript, *Interanimating Audience: Translanguaging Towards Islamic Feminist Social Justice in Indonesia*"

Dr. Daniel Shustack, Environmental Studies, "Annual movements and migratory connectivity of songbirds: filling in critical information need to conserve common species"

Three-Credit Research APR:

Dr. Elizabeth Hartung, Mathematics, "Research Collaboration in Mathematical Chemistry"

Emeritus Faculty Status

The committee then reviewed the list of faculty proposed for appointment to emeritus status. The following faculty have been recommended to the President for emeritus status:

The following faculty members will retire this May, and they have been nominated for Emeritus status.

- Dr. Susan Edgerton, Language, Interdisciplinary Studies, and Philosophy
- Dr. Deborah Foss, Psychology
- Dr. Don Hyers, Environmental Studies
- Dr. Ben Kahn, Business Administration
- Dr. David Levine, Chemistry
- Dr. Mark Miller, English & Communications
- Dr. Adrienne Wootters, Academic Affairs

Upon a motion duly made and seconded, upon roll call vote, it was unanimously:

VOTED: to recommend appointment to emeritus status for faculty members as detailed above.

Other Business

In response to a question regarding the interim dean role in Academic Affairs, President Birge state that Dean Janis will remain in this position for a third year.

Academic Affairs Committee Minutes of May 11, 2021 Page 4

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the Committee the meeting was adjourned at 9:15 a.m.